PDA

View Full Version : logging boost on datalogit



benevolent
09-06-2004, 05:30 AM
is anyone logging boost on a datalogit w/out the boost control kit?i'm thinking this is possible with a GM MAP sensor connected to an auxiliary input,but i can't find any info on the output of the sensor.i could probably figure it out on the bench with a guage and a meter.i thought i would check here first.
~ben

Hugh
09-06-2004, 05:31 AM
You could use any old boost sensor for a boost controller or boost gauge.

benevolent
09-06-2004, 07:02 PM
alright, i get that much. anything with a 0v to 5v output is acceptable,but does anyone know if the output on the GM 3bar MAP sensor is a linear output? or if any map sensor has a linear output. i can figure it out alot easier if i don't have to jack with polynomials.thanks.

Hugh
09-06-2004, 07:20 PM
Honestly I don't know. You should be able to easily compare what boost you're seeing on the gauge and what boost is logged just to get it figured out.

Do you have an electronic boost gauge in your car now? We always just tapped off that sensor for datalogging and had good results.

benevolent
09-07-2004, 05:36 AM
nah, i just have an analog autometer in there now.i may go ahead and step up to an electronic guage just so i can tap the sender.it's gonna be a pain to tune timing without a boost log.feels pretty slow now at 15psi on an s15turbo.so hopefully i can get some more ass out of it with some timing advance.

Goolie
09-07-2004, 04:09 PM
Taken from http://www.hhscott.com/93tmv/3-bar_map2.htm

2 Bar vs. 3 Bar (http://www.hhscott.com/93tmv/images/2BARvs3BAR_MAP.gif)

I'm pretty sure all GM Map sensors are linear

Mopar turbo guys and Electromotive users can tell you more

Hugh
09-07-2004, 09:46 PM
Nice link!

Thanks.

I run a Tec3 with a 3bar myself. This info could come in handy someday.