PDA

View Full Version : Importing Silvia's

Jhapa
12-18-2001, 06:00 PM
for those who have imported silvia's, how difficult was it and which company to import with. all i have been getting is sorry, don't like to export to US. any help would be appreciated.

**DONOTDELETE**
12-19-2001, 07:59 PM
how much are you willing to spend to get an actual Silvia imported? S13,S14, S15?
I might be able to help you out.

Jhapa
12-26-2001, 01:06 PM
s13's. maybe s14.

Jhapa
12-26-2001, 01:08 PM
how about a sil-80.

Papa Lazarou
12-26-2001, 07:54 PM
I imported one, but not to the US so I have no real knowledge of that side of it. As I understand it to get an imported car road legal for the US is very difficult and expensive, but others would know about that.

Good luck finding a decent Sil-80 though. I don't beleive looked after Nissan originals are available. If you were to find one at auction which had proof it was made that way by Nissan, I guess you'd be looking at silly money. What you will find is modified 180SX's with the Silvia front end. Accident damaged Silvia or 180's are common, and are frequently sold. You have to wonder how many are shipped abroad to have bodged repairs done, then sold on at a fat profit..

Personally I would go for a clean, 96+ 180SX Type X if I was buying again. If you do go ahead only get a grade 4 or above car, and insist on getting all do***entation including the auction grading sheet. Oh, and the colour can affect the price of the car. You may get a better deal on a less popular colour (white ones sell for the most for some reason). http://www.freshalloy.com/

Papa Lazarou
12-26-2001, 08:10 PM