PDA

View Full Version : Why are all online SR wiring guides misleading?

Gonad
09-12-2005, 01:24 PM
I'm no electrical expert, but I can follow simple instructions (but I still end up asking a dozen people because I'm just that much paranoid).

People say the wiring guide is simple; others say get someone else to do it. I wanted to do it myself

So I start looking online for simple guides with pictures and whatnot (just to make life easier).

I found two: HEAVYTHROTTLE.com's guide and NISSANPERFORMANCEMAG.com's guide

I tackled the harness near the ECU plug first (the infamous 'brown plug behind the glovebox').

Both sites mention the following wires matching on the two plugs.

On the websites...

HEAVY THROTTLE wrote: It is not necessary to connect any other wires to get the SR to run properly.
NISSAN PERFORMANCE MAG wrote: The rest of the miscellaneous green and one red wire are not necessary, we taped up each exposed end and then covered all of them in electrical tape.

Yellow / Red stripe = Tachometer signal
Yellow / Green stripe = Speedometer signal
Orange = Ignition start
Black = Ground
Blue / Green stripe = AC signal
Blue / Black stripe = Water temp signal

Now when I had my KA24DE, I bought the CONSULT tool (From PLMS). When a friend with an SR came over to look over some things, I tried to connect CONSULT to his SR and got no reading. The CONSULT is clearly capable of working with the SR engine.

Turns out those 'miscellaneous green' wires are whats used by CONSULT. If you trace the wires from both the SR and KA ECU pinouts, they match up perfectly and lead to the CONSULT port (under the steering column).

So it's understandable that the above wires are all that's needed to run but why won't these 'online guides' just mentiion to hook up the CONSULT wires? There's no loss and you may as well do it once and do it right.