PDA

View Full Version : lumpy idle, rich as hell, 550cc, z32 maf,



FlatLandSF
11-30-2005, 01:37 AM
ok I did a search on this and no definite answer to my question. After installing 550cc's, z32maf, and an ecu tuned for z32 maf and 550cc's... I still have to make adjustments to the safc for it to just idle lumpily (sp?). Right now it's at 3in 6out. It's also running rich at 10.1 at idle. I have a wideband so it's accurate. I'm thinking the maf is bad, but I'm not totally definite. Let me know what u guys can come up with.

dryft_s15
11-30-2005, 06:27 AM
What happens with 2-in and 2-out?

_Def_
12-01-2005, 12:06 AM
If the ECU is tuned for the Z32 MAF then you shouldn't have the AFC do any MAF scaling or fuel corrections to just get it to run.

S14Redtop
12-01-2005, 12:25 AM
hey...not 100% sure what the issue is...could be maf, but I would also double check your AFC settings. I accidentally put my AF setting to "kalman" instead of "Hotwire" and the car exibited the same symptoms as yours. The SAFC is tricky b/c you really don't have to "select" these settings..you just leave the cursor on which setting you want, and exit the menu.

hope it fixes it
mark

FlatLandSF
12-01-2005, 02:57 AM
it's on hot wire. I'mm going to get another z32 maf and see how that runs.

FlatLandSF
12-03-2005, 01:32 AM
anyone have any other ideas on what it can be? I ordered the maf and it should be here next week.

_Def_
12-03-2005, 03:12 AM
What's your MAF voltage at idle? Should be around 0.8% to around 1.1% on a cold start.

Brad
12-03-2005, 09:56 AM
anyone have any other ideas on what it can be? I ordered the maf and it should be here next week.



did you try changing the in/out to the same numbers like someone said? the reason you have x in and y out on a stock SR ecu is to trick it into thinking its tuned for a Z32 basically. now that the ecu knows what mafs you have, you need x in x out

FlatLandSF
12-03-2005, 10:43 PM
did you try changing the in/out to the same numbers like someone said? the reason you have x in and y out on a stock SR ecu is to trick it into thinking its tuned for a Z32 basically. now that the ecu knows what mafs you have, you need x in x out



tried that, but still idled like crap.

_Def_
12-04-2005, 02:00 AM
What are the voltage readings?

If it doesn't idle any better with the MAF unplugged then that's not your problem.

FlatLandSF
12-05-2005, 01:27 AM
it idles better at 5in 6out. I'll try unplugging the maf tomorrow and see.

FlatLandSF
12-05-2005, 11:17 PM
I experemented today and it runs better at 3in 6out and I also tried unplugging the maf. It still has low idle and idles lumpily. I forgot to mention the low idle.

KASilviaAR
12-06-2005, 12:32 PM
Not to be an a$$, but read what everyone's telling you - if, in fact, your ECU is ROM tuned for Z32 and 550's, then your SAFC should be set at hotwire 2 in-2 out, with no other corrections - including fuel. If you have flow reports for your injectors, and they actually flow a bit more than 550, then you may need to pull some fuel on the SAFC.

If your idle is always low, then check your base timing.

datboibrad
12-06-2005, 03:23 PM
assuming you have a sr20det your MAF should be set to 2in 6out regardless. but if you have a rom tune why the safc?

datboibrad
12-06-2005, 03:25 PM
im also willing to bet your running open BOV.

you should try the dec air settings on the afc. what it does it tell the ecu to not read from the ecu but from the afc under 1% or less throttle. commonly used to correct stalling from open atmosphere bov's

champa
12-06-2005, 04:10 PM
i bet you have a busted injector o-ring.

_Def_
12-06-2005, 05:39 PM
assuming you have a sr20det your MAF should be set to 2in 6out regardless. but if you have a rom tune why the safc?



Whoa! Massive misinformation!

Please don't listen to this advice(not that you're listening to the good advice given here).

skillvia
12-07-2005, 11:13 AM
did you remap the ecu yourself? usually if you get a reprogrammed ecu you should not need a safc. one of the guys is asking you to check voltage here. you need to do that . if it revs over 3k rpm then it is ok. doent the a/f read normal under heavy load? 11.5? if so you might need to remap your ecu again.

FlatLandSF
12-07-2005, 01:18 PM
ok I swapped out the maf and it does the same thing. the idle fluctuates from 900 to 800. Now I have it at 3in 6out. My friend thinks it's the safc wiring to the tps. I almost forgot the afr on the safc is at 1.6% at idle.

KASilviaAR
12-07-2005, 02:16 PM
ok I swapped out the maf and it does the same thing. the idle fluctuates from 900 to 800. Now I have it at 3in 6out. My friend thinks it's the safc wiring to the tps. I almost forgot the afr on the safc is at 1.6% at idle.



READ!!!!!!! 2IN, 2OUT!!!!! NO FUEL CORRECTIONS FOR BASE SETUP!!!!!!!!!!!!! HELLLOOOO!!!!!!!!!

http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/rolleyes1.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/tear.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/frown.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/rolleyes1.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/confused.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/rolleyes1.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

<font color="red[/img] This guy is "un-helpable" </font>

_Def_
12-07-2005, 03:07 PM
Yea, if he can't even be bothered to listen to our posts, much less read the S-AFC manual that'd say the same exact thing then there's no point in posting it over and over...

1.6% is a bit high for a Z32 MAF at idle, but depending on what your IACV is doing it could be acceptable for a fast idle at 1.5k RPM or so.

Hope that 3 in 6 out works well for ya... http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/rolleyes1.gif

KASilviaAR
12-07-2005, 03:29 PM
1.6% is a bit high for a Z32 MAF at idle, but depending on what your IACV is doing it could be acceptable for a fast idle at 1.5k RPM or so.



Wouldn't the AFL% be different if, say, the SAFC actually knew which type of MAFS it was getting its signal from???

_Def_
12-07-2005, 04:14 PM
Probably not since most hotwire MAFs have an output voltage ceiling of ~5V(4.9V maybe?), and it's just calculating a percentage.

Who knows what is going on with the original poster's car at this point...

FlatLandSF
12-08-2005, 01:22 AM
ok I swapped out the maf and it does the same thing. the idle fluctuates from 900 to 800. Now I have it at 3in 6out. My friend thinks it's the safc wiring to the tps. I almost forgot the afr on the safc is at 1.6% at idle.




READ!!!!!!! 2IN, 2OUT!!!!! NO FUEL CORRECTIONS FOR BASE SETUP!!!!!!!!!!!!! HELLLOOOO!!!!!!!!!

http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/rolleyes1.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/tear.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/frown.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/rolleyes1.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/confused.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/rolleyes1.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

<font color="red[/img] This guy is "un-helpable" </font>




I might have forgot to mention it but I did try that and the car slowly leaned out and died on me. btw I have tried every in and out combo I can think up. I apologize for not clueing you guys on everything that I have been trying. It also dies on partial throttle like 10-15% from a stop. I give it alot of gas but the revs still drop and it dies. I have to rev it high just to get going from a stop. Which leads me to beleive it's the wiring from or to the tps. We tested the tps and it's fine.
I really appreciate the help you guys are giving me.