PDA

View Full Version : HKS turbo install problem



driftts14
12-11-2005, 02:02 PM
i just recently found out this problem after i installed the hks gt2530 turbo on the redtop sr20. the top of the turbo outlet flange sort of hits the exhaust manifold, and the outlet pipe wont fit, is it ok if i grind off the top of the outlet flange and outlet pipe? i dont want to have to take off the turbo again. here is a pic.

http://www.toysport.com/hksturbo.jpg

asad
12-11-2005, 02:58 PM
Go ahead and grind it a little, it's not going to hurt anything.

Asad

HIGHMILEHATCH
12-11-2005, 03:50 PM
Why don't you loosen and spin the compressor housing?

wizdom240
12-11-2005, 03:53 PM
take your time to do it right, and re-clock the turbo.

SilverArrow27
12-11-2005, 05:59 PM
My brother clocked his GTRS.

aukalok
12-11-2005, 08:35 PM
Is the turbo new? If so re-clocking it is fine but if it has been used it creates its own seal that makes it bad when re-clocking the housing.

driftts14
12-11-2005, 11:29 PM
i just grinding it off, it has about 1mm clearance now. how much clearence is it suppose to have?

aukalok
12-11-2005, 11:46 PM
i guess it really doesnt matter now since you already have it installed and you have grinded it down. just run it and see how it goes. there shouldnt be a problem.

TS4l
12-12-2005, 12:14 PM
As said before clock the turbo. If you are dead set on grinding it make sure to make enough clearence so the gasket between the turbo and manifold can seal and you should be good. But its was easier to clock it so I really don't know why you would grind your new turbo! Just my 2 cents.

TS4l
12-12-2005, 12:14 PM
As said before clock the turbo. If you are dead set on grinding it make sure to make enough clearence so the gasket between the turbo and manifold can seal and you should be good. But its way easier to clock it so I really don't know why you would grind your new turbo! Just my 2 cents.

Gavster
12-12-2005, 12:37 PM
+1 on clocking the housing...theyre made to pointed in any direction you want...dont grind it!