PDA

View Full Version : Need R33 ebrake cables



Alkemyst
02-28-2006, 08:57 PM
perfmissan is on 30-60 day backorder.

Any other sources?


Dousan_PG
02-28-2006, 10:05 PM
get an importer or friend to order you YANACK lines

i got Yanack on my car. same as Rwhatever
fits perfect.

worth every penny. ordered when i was in Japan. http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Alkemyst
02-28-2006, 10:44 PM
I tried that, they say it's a japan only part number and don't import. Same as many of the online retailers.

Yanack sounds interesting, but I need a source. I will have my wife ask her brothers if they can get them in Japan.

'97 S14 SE Turbo
03-01-2006, 03:59 AM
Was it Fatty-something from UK that provided that info?

Alkemyst
03-01-2006, 06:20 AM
I have these numbers:
36531-15U10 Left ebrake cable R33
36530-15U10 Right ebrake cable R33

a2low240
03-01-2006, 08:57 AM
Sitting here looking at a pair, make an offer, but make it a good one.

Homer_Simpson
03-01-2006, 08:57 AM
I have these numbers:
36531-15U10 Left ebrake cable R33
36530-15U10 Right ebrake cable R33


Yup, those are the correct numbers since I got the same off of the plastic wraps. You might want to give Courtesy Nissan a call. When you call then ask to talk to the guy that deals specifically with the SR20DET/JDM stuff, he once told me that he could order ANYTHING as long as there's a part #. Good luck.

cdlong
03-01-2006, 09:10 AM
just to clarify, do those work on an s14/z32 swap? how are they different than the z32 cables? i've heard rumors of them working buthaven'thad any confirmation.

a2low240
03-01-2006, 09:40 AM
Z32 cables are way too short for S chassis cars. The R33 cables are perfect fitr for the Z32 rear brake swap.

Alkemyst
03-01-2006, 10:33 AM
Sent you an email, didn't see you were with a shop. If they are new I am willing to pay the same $125 shipped from PerfNissan.

Let me know
alkemyst @ 30 moons.com

Alkemyst
03-01-2006, 05:07 PM
We spoke and apparently the e-brakes on the R33 is different than the Z32 and requires the R33 rear hubs due to a clearance issue?

I did get R33 hubs with this but one I believe was leaking and sticks a bit when you first turn it by had. The axle seats are pretty corroded but could be cleaned up.

Anyone know about this and/or a workaround?

Thanks

Alkemyst
03-01-2006, 11:02 PM
Nonsense. R33 cables work fine with all Z32 parts. I just put the set I mentioned above on this afternoon, no problems. It's the fourth set I've done this year. You'll need to tighten the tension at the handle just a little, but that's it. Cake.



I have R33 rear brakes and ebrakes though. The person said with that set up you need R33 hubs to clear the shoes / pins.

killjoy
03-01-2006, 11:32 PM
Z32 cables are way too short for S chassis cars. The R33 cables are perfect fitr for the Z32 rear brake swap.




I don't agree with this. Are their different lengths from diff z32's? I have z32 cables on my car and they are longer. I have to bunch them up in the rear for it to get toight (like a tiger).

I ended up using a self tapping screw in the rear tab of them right into the body.

a2low240
03-02-2006, 07:55 AM
You must have Z32 2+2 E-brake cables. I know the 2 seater Z's cables come up too short.

cdlong
03-02-2006, 08:19 AM
and you have an s13 which is a few inches shorter.

'97 S14 SE Turbo
03-02-2006, 08:58 AM
and not routed through the subframe.

andrewmp6
03-02-2006, 08:58 AM
try aussie ebay http://www.ebay.com.au/ or email http://www.pandagarage.com/ they can get you anything same with raretrick.com

Alkemyst
03-02-2006, 10:33 AM
I will check them out. I saw you caught your first recommendation of perfnissan http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Thanks

andrewmp6
03-07-2006, 06:19 AM
yeah i kinda posted with out thinking or you could jerry rig up the cable with some hardware store cable clamps

R3en
03-07-2006, 02:45 PM
I think Doing a hydraulic ebrake is a good alternative way to make the ebrake work. and it's not expensive and less work

Alkemyst
03-07-2006, 05:13 PM
I think Doing a hydraulic ebrake is a good alternative way to make the ebrake work. and it's not expensive and less work



heck of a first post. How is using an add-on ebrake going to be less work than R33 cables?

I don't get it. http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/wink.gif

RDM_II
03-07-2006, 06:49 PM
Cutting, flaring, and running a set of lines to an in cabin lever is considerably more work than bolting on a pair of direct fit cables.

Rekluz
03-16-2006, 01:12 AM
I aquired a R33 2 door Skyline ebrake cable yesterday, I didn't know that the ebrake on a skyline is drum or shoe type and the regular brakes are rotor/ caliper. But I'm not sure I understand completely, are you guys saying that you only need R33 cables if you have the S14 chassis? so for the RPS13 chassis fastback you will need what all from the 300ZX? I'm trying to get my stuff together for when I get back to the states... Thanks for help'n a near noob.

cosmoworks
03-16-2006, 01:50 AM
But I'm not sure I understand completely, are you guys saying that you only need R33 cables if you have the S14 chassis? so for the fastback you will need just the 300zx cable?



S13 can use just use the Z32 cable (http://forums.freshalloy.com/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=UBB27&Number=67877415#Post 67877844)... but you'll still need the Z32 e-brake drum assembly for both the S13 and S14.

-Cosmo

andrewmp6
03-16-2006, 04:45 AM
i have the r33 ebrake cable on my s13 fit perfect

Rekluz
03-16-2006, 06:17 AM
sweet, thanks. Can you fit the drum assy. on the s13 stock hub?

cdlong
03-16-2006, 08:50 AM
the e-brake doesn't really interact with the hub. they are both mounted to the upright seperatly (sort of). so you can run 4 lug hubs if you redrill the z32 rotors to fit over them.

cosmoworks
03-16-2006, 11:55 AM
sweet, thanks. Can you fit the drum assy. on the s13 stock hub?



I don't see why not. http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

-Cosmo

Super13
03-17-2006, 08:25 PM
WHAT ! oh shyte, Where can I get R33 cables (? model) I need perfect fitting cables for my S13 w/ rear z32 brakes. The 2+2 cables are toooo long for the S13, Im thinking the TT cables might work better, but if the R33 cables fit like flyn, someones gotta give, where, where, where, please, ohh my god, someone spill the beans.

http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/chillpill.gif http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/iamwithstupid.gif

Dousan_PG
03-17-2006, 10:09 PM
well you COULD read the thread...

Rekluz
03-19-2006, 03:45 AM
WHAT ! oh shyte, Where can I get R33 cables (? model)



uh I'm in Okinawa I found mine off a newly junked R33, $15 including the junk yard taking them off! What a steal... http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/grin.gif