PDA

View Full Version : RAS Question



forcefedS13
03-04-2006, 06:00 PM
Dumb Question. Looked at the FSM for installing my Rocker Arm Stoppers. It says to loosen in sequence. Okay, but do i completely remove the cam caps for the install. Which in turn would mean i need to take off the timing chain.

Or can i just loosen the outer side of the Cam Caps in the sequence shown and install the RAS? Then just retighten in sequence.

Also, what does the chain guides get torqued to? There is no TQ numbers for them. I searched the FSM.

forcefedS13
03-05-2006, 08:27 AM
noone knows?

b18c_ferio
03-05-2006, 09:27 AM
i would just remove the bolts, install RAS then retighten per FSM

forcefedS13
03-05-2006, 09:44 AM
thats what i plan on doing now

240Shorty
03-05-2006, 11:22 AM
make sure you loosen BOTH sides not just the one with the RAS on them. that is a big no no and might result in snapping a cam tower bolt off. do it the right way. also if you do it like this there is no need to take the timing chain off. just loosen the bolts completely then put the RAS on and tighter per FSM.

forcefedS13
03-05-2006, 01:54 PM
yeah, i assumed that would be the best way...using common sense. I just wanted to make sure there were no tircks of some sort.