View Full Version : I can't stand some people on ebay selling SR20DETs

02-12-2002, 04:07 PM
It's funny how he called it a SR20DET, AND a B16A. Is that supposed to mean he bored out a B16 to 1998cc added a turbo and put a red-top S13 head on there? http://www.freshalloy.com/

ha! ha! Goes to show some people will buy (or at least bid on) anything that says Type R, SiR, B18, or B16. I can't belive someone is willing to risk $750 on a "SR20DET" with a "B16A conversion"

Edit: Just noticed that it comes with the distributor! Wow! Umm..last I check the SR was distributor-less. http://www.freshalloy.com/

[ 02-12-2002, 04:11 PM: Message edited by: SR20VET ]

02-12-2002, 09:09 PM
Hey guys...does the engine say anything that its an SR motor? Whats the engine codes on all the SR20s?

[ 02-12-2002, 09:11 PM: Message edited by: S13240Coupe ]

02-12-2002, 10:33 PM
ahhh man..... my sr never cam with v-tec...

02-12-2002, 10:57 PM
I almost laugh my a$$ off when i saw that page... http://www.freshalloy.com/images/imported/2002/01/laugh-1.gif

02-12-2002, 11:06 PM
wow! a b16 and sr20 all into one little thing. That is awesome. why stop at b16a? he might as well should have said that was the exact motor used in the green eclipse featured in the Fast and the Furious.
and a disclaimer stating something like: we aren't responsible if we lied or ripped you off.

Yury S Lyalko
02-13-2002, 12:25 AM
Look at this idiot...


A B16 DOHC Vtec engine with compression ratio 8.8:1 and compression tested.
200psi in cylinder 2 - christ...
its a nice picture, but i have a hard time trusting that it is the pic of the engine.



Yury Lyalko
www.srswap.com (http://www.srswap.com)

02-13-2002, 12:27 AM
yes, i definitely agree... =)

02-13-2002, 12:35 AM
That's the same guy that was trying to sell a blacktop S13 motor as an S15 SR.


02-13-2002, 12:51 AM
Originally posted by asad137:
That's the same guy that was trying to sell a blacktop S13 motor as an S15 SR.

Asad<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]I think there are some real shady people on Ebay who just want to make money. It makes me think twice about buying anything off of there.

02-13-2002, 12:53 AM
Reminds me of the time, forgot where though maybe on Ebay, I saw someone trying to push a red-top as a "Type-R" Nissan motor. Saying something like the red-top was a special edition and had the higest hp of any SR20DET.

Give me a break!

Best advice to anyone, find a reputable shop/business and stick with them for all your purchases! Build a decent relationship instead of trying to save a few bucks.

02-13-2002, 01:12 AM
I think it has to do with the fast and the furious =o) SR in Civics haha

02-13-2002, 01:21 AM
man, what the heck is this? He relisted the motor under the right name but it appearantly, it still comes with both a distributor AND a crank angle sensor. Wow!

02-13-2002, 01:31 AM
SON OF A GUN, That is the guy i ordered my "everything but the ecu shipped" engine from. When it got here the oilpan was busted and the alternator was broke plus i had to repay the shipping that i have already paid once. It was maybe the shipping companys fault about the oilpan but i still have no reply whatsever about the shipping or the parts that he offered to me for free as long as i took the engine. Sorry, i had to get it off my chest.


02-13-2002, 01:35 AM
"The seller ended this listing early because of an error in the listing."

"An" error?

02-13-2002, 01:49 AM
there's soo many scams on ebay, SR20det is distributorless isnt it?

02-13-2002, 01:58 AM
Originally posted by Grant:
there's soo many scams on ebay, SR20det is distributorless isnt it?<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]Yes it is, but this sale (probably) wasn't a scam. It's just somebody that doesn't know what the fluck they're talking about. Not a good trait in somebody you might be buying an engine from.

Yury S Lyalko
02-13-2002, 08:39 AM
I mailed the guy about 15 seconds after i saw the post and told him what i think.

I bet my nuts that he will rewrite the auction description with the details i gave him and repost it...

yummybagel - Bill, drop me a line if you are stuck on some parts for the swap.

Yury Lyalko
www.srswap.com (http://www.srswap.com)

02-13-2002, 08:42 AM
I looked at it carefully. This person probably sells both of these engines. I'm willing to bet that they just put the wrong pictures and title with the wrong description.
Just a simple mistake. That's why they closed it early.

Yury S Lyalko
02-13-2002, 08:42 AM
P.S. I don't get it...

Why SO MANY people buy crapy engines from unknown people. We have redtop in stock, complete and guaranteed. You get a busted part - we'll fix it or send you a new one...

Our prices are more then reasonable at $2400 for a redtop with support and guarantees.

Why do people go out of their way and save $300 on the engine, just to get screwed on shipping and then have nobody to talk to about their missing parts.

I am forced to answer 30 questions a day on missing parts and what can one do in that case. All becuase somebody wanted to save $300 and got screwed.

Just kills me...
Yury Lyalko
www.heavythrottle.com (http://www.heavythrottle.com)