PDA

View Full Version : Idea for a electrical SC

**DONOTDELETE**
02-15-2002, 05:58 AM
First I'd like to say that I'm a newb with tuning, so forgive my ignorance.

This is an Idea I've had, based on looking at the e-ram sc. What if you used a better electric motor? The e-ram gives 1psi and uses 50amps of power. I am looking at a blower from Grainger that uses 5amps @ 12volts. Item # 3HV20. They claim it produces 12.2psi max boost. It measures 5x3 inches. Here is the page http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/productdetail.jsp?xi=xi&ItemId=1611764151 .

My question is would it be adaptable to be used for an electic S/C? Its only $153.50. Using it with an IC would seem to be cheaper than a turbo setup.

**DONOTDELETE**
02-15-2002, 06:03 AM
That blower runs only 32.0 CFM. I don't know the exact number, but I recall someone saying that the 240's intake flow, at WOT, is in the hundred's of CFM. 500 or 600, or something like that...

Anyone have exact (or estimated) figures?

In any case, to accomplish anything, you need a high-psi/ high CFM blower...
-B

[ 02-15-2002, 06:05 AM: Message edited by: Senna ]

ADAM HUTCHINSON
02-15-2002, 07:51 AM
we need over 200cfm....

guys..if it was feasable they would have done it already http://www.freshalloy.com/

**DONOTDELETE**
02-15-2002, 08:06 AM
Well I run a BIG 16g turbo on my Eclipse and that flows 560cfm. That is enough air for around 425-450hp You do the math....

ADAM HUTCHINSON
02-15-2002, 08:33 AM
so setting up an electric motor with some huge fan or custom blade contruction with a huge current draw, multiple batteries and alternators to power it... is easier?

remember these devices were all used in miltary planes..and they thought of everything..including using NOS

http://www.freshalloy.com/

[ 02-15-2002, 08:34 AM: Message edited by: ADAM H ]

**DONOTDELETE**
02-15-2002, 08:44 AM
I didn't mean for this thread to become a s/c vs tubo rant.