PDA

View Full Version : SR ARP Head Studs



forcefedS13
08-24-2006, 11:21 AM
Not sure if this belongs in Basic, so please forgive me, or move as needed.

The FSM directs to torque the head bolts in sequence, and loosen them up to retourque to 35ft lbs.

the ARP instructions directs you to Torque in sequence to 65-70ft lbs.

Just wondering if i need to torque half way, then torque all the way, then loosen and retorque them to 65-70?

Not trying to read too much into it, but it seems Nissan wanted them loosened and retorqued for a reason before the 90 degree final turn.

Yes, i DID search.

champa
08-24-2006, 11:37 AM
Torque in sequence means to tighten the bolts in order, as in 1, 2, 3,...,10. you do not loosen the ARP bolts. i start with 30ft-bls increasing by 10ft-lbs until 80ft-lbs.

OEM bolts are "torque to yielded". that's why you have to loosen them

forcefedS13
08-24-2006, 12:04 PM
I knew what TQ in sequence meant, I was just wondering if they needed loosening and retorquing...Thanks, ill follow your idea to 80ft lbs and then do the 90 degree turn. Or is the 90 degree turn not needed?

chunk
08-24-2006, 12:10 PM
No 90' turn... This is what I do. Torque in sequence to 30, 50, 70, 85. DONE! Be sure to use tons of moly lube.

forcefedS13
08-24-2006, 12:40 PM
Yeah, they gave me one tube of it with the studs. I hope thats enough.

I wont do the turn, thanks all for your help.

scotheocelot
08-24-2006, 01:28 PM
What I am trying to figure out is do that sequence after putting the studs in the bottom end or do you torque the head bolts into the bottom end to 80ft-lb, then slip the head on and tighten that to 80ft-lbs?


-scott

orion
08-24-2006, 02:17 PM
They are only to be HAND TIGHT in the block.

Also, be sure the holes are not full of oil...it will stop the studs from threading all the way in.

- Brian

champa
08-24-2006, 02:30 PM
good point.
i'm rebuilding a friend's SR now. the holes were FILLED with crap, took us about an hour just to clean them up. the studs should bottom out and turn freely by hand. if not keep cleaning it.

i like to torque them to 10 ft-lbs so that they are all consistent and the same height.

forcefedS13
08-24-2006, 08:53 PM
You are not going to believe this one.

Put the studs in and when i went to thread the nuts on, one of them had no threads!!

You heard me right, 9 of the nuts were threaded and the last one had not one thread on it, not even a hint of a thread. I was wondering why it wouldnt thread on, and when i pulled it off, it was totally bare!

So i called Enjuku and asked them to send me a new one, i doubt i will get it by saturday when i have time to put the motor together.

I tried to thread it myself, but broke the hand threader thing that comes with the tap and die set. Not only that, but they do have a 20mm thread but its way to small for the nut.

Looks like im screwed.

champa
08-24-2006, 10:10 PM
wtf, the same crap happen to my friend last year :eek:

forcefedS13
08-25-2006, 07:51 AM
Unbelievable isnt it?

chunk
08-25-2006, 09:25 AM
Not really. When I was building my motor ARP caused a headache for me. One of the nuts in my rod bolt kit was the wrong size. D'oh! Call ARP directly, they will gladly ship you out what you need. If you care to pay for it, you can have them send it via saturday delivery. Should cost about $45 for that. Anyway, give ARP a call. They are good peoples.

forcefedS13
08-25-2006, 11:30 PM
Enjuku is overnighting the part to me. It will be here by tomorrow. Nice guy, he is.