PDA

View Full Version : HELP! I can't get my car to run right. Running Rich black smoke!

TTRX7Pete
10-01-2008, 07:03 PM
Ok, I have a bit of a problem.

First the car:

97 240sx with an S14 SR20DET blacktop VTC.
Modifications:
New spark plugs
255lph Walbro Fuel Pump
GReddy FMIC
Intake
Full 3" exhaust.
Auto to 5spd Swap.

Problem:

The car (http://zilvia.net/f/#) at idle belches black smoke. It smells of fuel and most definitely is because of the black smoke. I'm new to the Nissan scene, but I've been modifying rotaries for over 10 years. The car idles at 800rpm with about 10-11 in/hg vacuum. The car will rev past 2500 rpm while at a stop. While driving the car, it will rev freely but feels weak, due to the continued rich state. The engine only boosts about 5-6 psi while floored. I do not have a boost controller and I am only running the wastegate off of the intercooler piping.

If I unplug the MAF, the car revs up for a few seconds then sputters out and dies. The MAF voltages check out. The o2 voltages check out. The igniter chip voltages check out. All of the coil packs have the correct voltage as well. I also check continuity throughout all of the systems.

Next I performed a vacuum/boost leak check. I found a leak at the turbo inlet elbow, fixed it, and it did not solve the problem. I used a homemade pressure testing kit, as can be found on this forum and used a Ford (http://zilvia.net/f/#) dealership smoke kit, which pressurizes the system with smoke to find vacuum leaks.

All of the electrical connections are done properly with Ford/aero grade electrical connectors, no cheap butt connectors. Everything is shrink wrapped and neat. The MAF and o2 both have the correct shielded wire.

Replaced my Coolant Temp Sensor - no change.
Reset my timing mechanically to 15 bdtc.