PDA

View Full Version : Turbo went in today :(



sexy240
05-31-2002, 04:56 PM
I put the finishing touches on my turbo today. Ran a little behind schedule. I lacked one thing. My downpipe. I drove down to the muffler shop just as they where closing http://www.freshalloy.com/ now I have to wait untill monday to drive my baby http://www.freshalloy.com/ well on the way home I got stupid I pushed the car with out the O2 sensors plugged in. wastegate opened as it should 5 LBS. the car didnt spool as quick as it should for a t3 and the hP gains didnt seem to impressive. Im sure alot has to do with the incorrect amount of fuel running though the system, with the O2 sensors dangling in the air. well at least it was running rich. Oh and I did this on a tinny 4:1 FMU the recalibration kit 10:1 is in the mail. there were no signs of detonation. yea I know not the smartest but I just couldnt resist. Ill update you on moday...

blk180sx
05-31-2002, 05:21 PM
cheer up have no fear there are plenty of muffler shops open on saturday. i should know i live in so-cal also.

sexy240
05-31-2002, 08:51 PM
yea but how many will make me a downpipe for $60

AceInHole
05-31-2002, 10:18 PM
uhh... did you drive the car without a downpipe???
I'm more than confused....

Also... are you using a normal MAF setup or a blow through? (MAF before or after the turbo), and what IC are you using??

I must've missed any posts about your setup.

sexy240
05-31-2002, 10:53 PM
MAF before the turbo. yes drove without the downpipe. 1rst gen DSM intercooler

**DONOTDELETE**
06-01-2002, 12:29 AM
did u custom build your turbo sexy or was it a retail kit? approximately how much did it run you??

emad

**DONOTDELETE**
06-01-2002, 02:34 AM
Originally posted by sexy:
I put the finishing touches on my turbo today. Ran a little behind schedule. I lacked one thing. My downpipe. I drove down to the muffler shop just as they where closing http://www.freshalloy.com/ now I have to wait untill monday to drive my baby http://www.freshalloy.com/ well on the way home I got stupid I pushed the car with out the O2 sensors plugged in. wastegate opened as it should 5 LBS. the car didnt spool as quick as it should for a t3 and the hP gains didnt seem to impressive. Im sure alot has to do with the incorrect amount of fuel running though the system, with the O2 sensors dangling in the air. well at least it was running rich. Oh and I did this on a tinny 4:1 FMU the recalibration kit 10:1 is in the mail. there were no signs of detonation. yea I know not the smartest but I just couldnt resist. Ill update you on moday...<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]You drove your car w/o a DOWNPIPE!!! That must have been loud http://www.freshalloy.com/

240sxTurbo
06-01-2002, 06:30 AM
Originally posted by sexy:
I put the finishing touches on my turbo today. Ran a little behind schedule. I lacked one thing. My downpipe. I drove down to the muffler shop just as they where closing http://www.freshalloy.com/ now I have to wait untill monday to drive my baby http://www.freshalloy.com/ well on the way home I got stupid I pushed the car with out the O2 sensors plugged in. wastegate opened as it should 5 LBS. the car didnt spool as quick as it should for a t3 and the hP gains didnt seem to impressive. Im sure alot has to do with the incorrect amount of fuel running though the system, with the O2 sensors dangling in the air. well at least it was running rich. Oh and I did this on a tinny 4:1 FMU the recalibration kit 10:1 is in the mail. there were no signs of detonation. yea I know not the smartest but I just couldnt resist. Ill update you on moday...<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]NO downpipe, did you at least have at turn down on the exhaust side of the turbo, please don't tell us you let it fire into the engine compartment!!!

I'm really hoping you are a bit more careful(intelligent) on this project that you have let on here on this web board, I don't really want to have to read about you breaking something later on....breaking stuff sux.

sexy240
06-01-2002, 04:21 PM
Its not that loud the turbo muffles the sound quite a bit, it is iddling really rough though. Yea I ran straight off the turbo but the turbo hangs down under the manifold so any flames would be shot under the car twords the transmision. I had to drive it. how else was I supposed to get it to the muffler shop? Stupid yea, but My options were limited.

jmcn
06-01-2002, 04:47 PM
Originally posted by sexy:
Its not that loud the turbo muffles the sound quite a bit, it is iddling really rough though. Yea I ran straight off the turbo but the turbo hangs down under the manifold so any flames would be shot under the car twords the transmision. I had to drive it. how else was I supposed to get it to the muffler shop? Stupid yea, but My options were limited.<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]tow it http://www.freshalloy.com/

AceInHole
06-01-2002, 08:40 PM
Originally posted by jmcn:
</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]Originally posted by sexy:
I had to drive it. how else was I supposed to get it to the muffler shop? Stupid yea, but My options were limited.<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]tow it http://www.freshalloy.com/ </font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]or push it http://www.freshalloy.com/

btw JMCN: that cracked turbo that you're junking, think i could try cannibalizing it for the bearings (worth a shot)?? http://www.freshalloy.com/

**DONOTDELETE**
06-01-2002, 10:46 PM
this might sound like a dumb idea, or question but why not buy a premade one?

sexy240
06-01-2002, 11:23 PM
I have a custom manifold ( Non log = length manifold_and the turbo hangs low and under the manifold, I dont think I can find one that will meet up just right. and if I did I would spend $150 for the down pipe and then another $50 to modify it. why when i can have one made for $60?