PDA

View Full Version : First Car- Help

**DONOTDELETE**
03-17-2001, 11:42 AM
Hello,

I'm a highschool student and my parents want me to get a new car once I get my license. It's far away, but i need to do some researching. I'm planning on getting a car summer of 2002 and was wondering what to get. I can buy a at the highest $22,000 to $23,000. Since my dad is real strict on cars, these are the cars i've considered

Volkswagen Jetta 1.8T- I heard that in 2002 they'll have an upgraded 1.8t engine for it, guessing they're adding the chip...is that true?

Nissan SE-R v-spec- I really want this car http://forums.freshalloy.com/forum/images/icons/grin.gif but i don't know if i can convince my parents to let me get a Japanese car =\
Mazda Protege MP3- i heard that there's going to be a limited supply of this version...so maybe not.

Can anyone help me choose or give advice on what car to buy...or to consider

thanx
-3dge

**DONOTDELETE**
03-17-2001, 02:04 PM
Well i cannot get:

2-doors
Rear Wheel drive

that's basically it...plus there's different car company's i can't buy from like..honda, mitsu...about any Japanese car except for toyota's and maybe nissans.

heh. =\

**DONOTDELETE**
03-17-2001, 03:40 PM
good god, you're mostly limited to fwd four door domestics?? i feel your pain!

well, if i were you, i would definately start lobbying for that v-spec...

thearabian
03-17-2001, 10:19 PM
the jetta is a fast car, very fun to drive, but VW's are too expensive for what you get

i might be biased, but given all your restrictons, i'd say go for the SE-R

**DONOTDELETE**
03-18-2001, 01:25 AM
are we restricted to fwd 4cyl econoboxes, or what? a decently equipped mustang gt rings in at ~23k retail... insurance payments would kick your ass, but hey http://forums.freshalloy.com/forum/images/icons/smile.gif

or you could buy something used that would have cost a good bit more new...

hiwayman17
03-18-2001, 04:26 PM