PDA

View Full Version : Stoplight racing

240sx
02-08-2000, 11:16 PM
I can't wait till the roads dry-up and I get my car out of the garage...

Just an older (89) 240sx as the name states.
I have two friends that own civics. One is a 99 Si-R and the other is the Si. Both Canadian Cars, so the Si-R in Canada is to my knowledge, the Si In the U.S.

I know I can beat the guy in his Si, and I will be betting a nice wad of cash too.

Should I even think of racing the Si-R or just laugh and say, nah later? All 3 cars are stock, cause I'm a poor high school student.

Happy Driving...

noelsaw
02-08-2000, 11:57 PM
Canda has an Si-R? Is it like the Japanese Si-R by any chance? If it is your 240SX might have some problems.

You're lucky though that you have a rear wheel drive car, you can handle that car unlike any front wheel drive car.

GTR
02-09-2000, 12:25 AM
the canadian si-r is the equivalent to the us market's si. those things are rather quick for the price theyre going for (17-18k here) though i dont know how it does against an 89 240.

noelsaw
02-09-2000, 10:01 AM
I think your 89 240 has about 140bhp with it's KA24E (2.4L SOHC). The Si has about probably about 115bhp. If you both have 5 spds it might be a draw since the 240SX is a bit heavier and depends on how well maintained your car has been.

mcervantes
02-09-2000, 11:00 AM
Just thought this was funny:
A few months back my brother bought a 1967 289 Mustang. He was so proud of it until he raced my sister in her 89 240SX.... Lets just say we haven't let him live that one down yet! Heheheh http://www.freshalloy.com/

noelsaw
02-09-2000, 04:15 PM
Ah, I forgot to differentiate the difference between the Civic (hatchback) Si and the newer Civic (coupe) Si. Yes, the Civic (coupe) Si indeed does have 160 bhp.

The lower horsepower figure I meant was for the Civic hatchback now dead in the US.

240sx
02-09-2000, 07:01 PM