PDA

View Full Version : installed z32 mafs..but having problems....



**DONOTDELETE**
10-24-2002, 02:42 PM
hey im new to board and first of wanna say that its the most helpful ive seen. my problem is that recently i installed a z32 mafs but did not do quite enogh research. i installed with no safc so naturally it turned on but ran like crap with black smoke every were. when i found out i needed a safc i tried putting the old one back on and that is were the problem now lies. it wont start and keeps blowing fuses. it blowing a fuse in engine control under the dash. ive checked everything eccs related and have had found nothing. if any body has any info on my problem i would really appeciate. thanks.

Rogue
10-24-2002, 03:32 PM
Did you rewire the old MAFS correctly?

thecmv
10-24-2002, 03:36 PM
double check the wiring

**DONOTDELETE**
10-24-2002, 04:49 PM
why do you need the s-afc to install z32 mafs?
thanks

cdn_w_sr20
10-24-2002, 04:59 PM
Because the Z32 mafs is much different than the Stock SR MAFS. It takes in a lot more air than that of the SR mafs. Hence it changes the stock air fuel ratios...

**DONOTDELETE**
10-24-2002, 10:59 PM
yeah ive checked and double checked all wiring. and it just dosent seem to want to start.

VikTurboZ
10-24-2002, 11:07 PM
ENG CON is a tricky ho... have fun tracing it down..

or just to mask the problem.. and drive around... toss in bigger amp fuses

that will get you back in action.. however it does not solve the actual problem.. yo need to trace down that short

Vik

**DONOTDELETE**
10-25-2002, 05:34 AM
yeah thats exactly what im goinig to do today. you right about that eng con that thing is a *****.

9591
10-25-2002, 05:50 AM
And, of course, DON'T replace the fuse with a bigger one. It might work, or it might overload the wires. Ever seen a dash burnt to a crisp because somebody "fixed" a fuse problem that way? Very sad, and very expensive.

gforce240sx
10-25-2002, 12:08 PM
If you wired it up wrong and ground the signal wire (I think), it will blow a fuse and if you repeat the process, the ECU will also fried. I burned out a fusible link and a capacitor inside the ECU 2-3 years back messing with my MAF.

Danny.

**DONOTDELETE**
10-26-2002, 10:11 AM
we got it to start. we ended up bypassing a lot a sutff. one problem though it seems to be running on 3 cylinders. we eventually foumd out that the engine control fuse is getting ground and voltage readings at the same time. very strange.