PDA

View Full Version : turbo budget



**DONOTDELETE**
03-27-2001, 08:23 PM
I have a revhard manifold.
What would i have to do to it to run a 300zx turbo? what is the stock boost on one of those and can i adjust it with a controler?

**DONOTDELETE**
03-27-2001, 09:35 PM
also, if i were to get a junkyard IC, could a machine shop do any necessary repairs and upgrades? Can i powdercoat a IC?

ta2maki
03-28-2001, 01:57 AM
if you paint the i/c it will hurt performance, as paint does not have as good thermal transfer than the i/c metal

03-28-2001, 08:24 AM
A 300ZX turbo should fit on the manifold, as its a T3. However, you may have problems fitting it in the *car* -- I'm not sure if the T3 will fit without hitting other stuff.

Stock boost on a 300ZX is around 6 psi I believe, and you can adjust it higher with a boost controller.

Asad

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Sr20det Dreams:
I have a revhard manifold.
What would i have to do to it to run a 300zx turbo? what is the stock boost on one of those and can i adjust it with a controler?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2001, 08:46 AM
A 300ZX (Z32, T25) twin turbo turbo, or a Z31 (T-03)turbo??

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2001, 08:49 AM
Z31 should work, as Asad has previously stated. You can "clock" this turbo so it will not interfere with other components in the (engine)bay.

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2001, 10:14 AM
you can clock this turbo, if you're running an external wastegate.

I'm using the integral wastegate, but have no fitment problems since I'm using a OEM style manifold that turns the turbo in the OEM orientation for single turbo nissans.

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2001, 02:08 PM
do you guys know what id have to do to the manifold to make a Z31 turbo fit(internal wastegate)?
I think rextreme has modified his manifold, but im not sure EXACTLY what to tella a machine shop to do.

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2001, 02:34 PM
the problem is that you're not getting a central entry turbine housing. OEM turbos (most turbos) have the inlet offset like a "snail shell". This makes fitment a problem. He welded a flange to "angle" the mounting position so that it fits.

rextreme
03-28-2001, 03:49 PM
Yep.... You have two choices. You can have the flange on the manifold itself ground down so the turbo sits more "level" or you can do what I did. I tried to do the first one because I though it would be easier but it turns out that the machine shop I took it to wanted like 200 bucks to do that job. So, I came up with the new idea. I bought the flange at a local speed shop for $20 bucks. Then I had a friend down the street bend some round steel stock to fill the gap and weld everything up nice like. Here are the pictures.

http://www.freshalloy.com/
finished manifold

http://www.racingextreme.com/main/images/manifold/1.jpg

http://www.racingextreme.com/main/images/manifold/2.jpg

http://www.racingextreme.com/main/images/manifold/3.jpg

http://www.racingextreme.com/main/images/manifold/4.jpg

Yeah... Yeah....

Here's my old post on it http://freshalloy.ubbforums.com/forum/Forum9/HTML/000458.html http://freshalloy.ubbforums.com/forum/Forum9/HTML/000420.html
My turbo post http://freshalloy.ubbforums.com/forum/Forum9/HTML/000553.html
And my blow through maf post http://freshalloy.ubbforums.com/forum/Forum9/HTML/001017.html

Have fun.

Tom