PDA

View Full Version : KA S13 head onto S14, and cams



AceInHole
01-30-2003, 07:40 PM
I've got a couple questions, mostly out of curiosity and anxiety.

Like the idiot that I am, I drilled about a 3/8" hole in my head into a water jacket (long story involving a snapped manifold stud). So, since the head is trash, I went out to find a new head. A friend told me that the S13 head should bolt right up to the S14 head, and that the head gaskets are the same for both anyways.

So... I'm just looking for confirmation that an S13 head will bolt to an S14 block, and vice versa. (I already bought the head... so it's more of a matter of relieving doubts)

Also... about cams, since I'm going to have them out anyways: I remember reading the 240sx.org FAQ on altima and s13 cams being "better" than the s14 cams. On a KA with a turbo, would it be worth the time to go out of my way to use either of those cams?? As of now... the junkyard that pulled the head for me may be at fault for a snapped intake side cam (the sprocket just broke right off when I opened the valve cover and loosened a few bolts by hand... ). I'm pretty sure with the 90day warranty I can go back and either get another S13 or altima cam/ cams, or get them fairly cheap if I press the issue.

Thoughts, comments, suggestions?

Kookz
01-30-2003, 07:58 PM
The heads should interchange. Altima cams won't work, at least that's the concensus. What yard did you get the S13 out of? There's an auto tranny S13 in Norwalk, not sure of the miles on it...

AceInHole
01-30-2003, 08:29 PM
Chuck & Eddies in New Haven (my hometown). I spotted a '92 engine from an auto (could tell by the flywheel) sitting near the yard entrance before when getting my gf new headlights for her sable.... ended up finding a '91 engine still in the car and figured that'd be good enough. spent $100, so it's not bad.
I figured it's easier than driving all the way to Tom's Foreign Auto (they list a couple S14's on car-parts.com) in Waterbury....

Red180sx
02-03-2003, 05:20 PM
tom's in waturbury is nice, i got my diff there. just go down route 69 towards waturbury and hook up with i-84, its not far, i know you live near rt 69.. you can have my cams when i do the swap, its closer than you think!

**DONOTDELETE**
02-03-2003, 08:16 PM
The water galleries do not line up between an S13 and S14, I'd urge you to get an S14 head.

asad
02-03-2003, 08:45 PM
IMOA, he's talking about a KA24, not an SR20.

Asad

**DONOTDELETE**
02-03-2003, 09:13 PM
Oops. First I get used to thinking KA whenever I'm on a US board, now I'm used to thinking SR when I'm in this little corner, I better get used to reading a little more carefully http://forums.freshalloy.com/ubbthreads/images/icons/smile.gif

AceInHole
02-04-2003, 02:13 AM
Heheh.... if I had an SR, I wonder how much longer it would take to get a new head and all the hardware for it??

I bet my headgasket would already be here though....

AceInHole
02-09-2003, 02:45 AM
FWIW and for reference: The valve cover from an S13 can fit an S14 head if you drill and tap one bolt hole, and fill in and smoothen out another. It's just a possibility for anyone in dire need of a new valve cover... although I don't think anyone ever was?

RDM_II
02-09-2003, 05:58 PM
Head will bolt up, but one important hole is different and will leak oil if you don't seal it. It's behind the upper timing cover, on the exhaust side. I don't recall exactly but Balanced Performance caught it when they put an S13 head on Chris May's car, so take a good look at both and note any differences.

AceInHole
02-09-2003, 07:32 PM
Not quite sure where that hole is....
http://www.engr.uconn.edu/~corrales/240/head_compare.jpg

The heads look the same. It's the block that looks different. I'm confused now.... gonna take better pics on my way up to school. Any more insight on this situation is VERY welcome!

boosteds14
02-09-2003, 09:04 PM
wait a minute.

I have an s13 block with an s14 head.

are you saying i will have leaking problems? or any problems?

AceInHole
02-10-2003, 12:14 AM
well... full resolution (2mp) pictures can be found here:
http://www.engr.uconn.edu/~corrales/240/full_res_head/
I haven't really looked at them in close detail since I just got back, but overall both heads look the same.

asad
02-10-2003, 01:58 AM
Looking at Ace's pics, we noticed the difference. It's a small difference in the shape of the upper timing cover flange on the exhaust side. If you use the S13 upper cover, you won't have any problems. You'll only run into problems if you try and use the S14 upper cover on the S13 head, or vice versa.

Asad

sheadee240
03-04-2003, 09:50 PM
I'm sure someone will call me retarded or worse for asking this, but what is the "upper cover"? Is that just another word for valve cover?

d240t2
03-04-2003, 10:08 PM
Upper timing cover. Covers the upper timing chain. Front of the motor.

Kato_NEO
02-11-2004, 03:55 PM
FWIW and for reference: The valve cover from an S13 can fit an S14 head if you drill and tap one bolt hole, and fill in and smoothen out another. It's just a possibility for anyone in dire need of a new valve cover... although I don't think anyone ever was?



So I can use the S14 valve cover on the s13 head w/ the s14 block?

Wiisass
02-11-2004, 04:45 PM
FWIW and for reference: The valve cover from an S13 can fit an S14 head if you drill and tap one bolt hole, and fill in and smoothen out another. It's just a possibility for anyone in dire need of a new valve cover... although I don't think anyone ever was?



So I can use the S14 valve cover on the s13 head w/ the s14 block?



Why would you want to do all that work when you can just use and S13 valve cover and have no problems at all?

Kato_NEO
02-11-2004, 04:56 PM
Yeah, I have an extra one...

What would be easier: complete head swap or just the s13 cams swap? With the cam swap I just need the s13 cams and shims?

Kookz
02-11-2004, 05:08 PM
S14 valve cover will not go onto S13 head.

For the swap all you need is the cams, shims are most likely not necessary.

xechno
03-01-2004, 12:35 AM
What is the performance like with a s13 head on a s14 block? Lower or higher ? I mean i know where has to be some kind of change even if minor.

Kookz
03-01-2004, 12:41 AM
I mean i know where has to be some kind of change even if minor.

Ahhh, that's the mentality that so many in the "tuner" community have.

No, there's no change.