PDA

View Full Version : Can 98 S14 ECU be reprogrammed?



mike2016
07-18-2001, 11:28 PM
I have a 98 S14, I'm wondering if the ECU can be reprogrammed?? I'm thinking to get the F-Max kit and it includes the JWT ECU upgrade but will it work on a 98 S14? Thanks!!

**DONOTDELETE**
07-19-2001, 08:48 AM
I have a 98 with an Fmax install, stage II+. The ECU that comes with the kit is a 95. The 97/98's are not used by Jim, at least the last time I talked to him (several weeks ago) he had not coded for the 97/98 ecu. The rear o2 sensor is disabled when the Fmax kit is installed. The mod is simply a pin mod on the ECU plug, very simple and documented.

mike2016
07-19-2001, 09:06 AM
Can the stock ECU support the bigger injectors that the F-Max kit included? did you dyno your car with the F-Max kit? Thanks!!

ringer
07-19-2001, 09:12 AM
You probably have a 96 ecu the 95's have diferent pinouts for the ac and some other stuff. I know cause it is causing me probs with my fmax install (using a 95 ECU). As for the 97/98 ecu those are going to be out later this year per Clark@jwt. I would just go with a 96 ecu as it allows you to lose the rear o2 sensor.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Importcargarage:
I have a 98 with an Fmax install, stage II+. The ECU that comes with the kit is a 95. The 97/98's are not used by Jim, at least the last time I talked to him (several weeks ago) he had not coded for the 97/98 ecu. The rear o2 sensor is disabled when the Fmax kit is installed. The mod is simply a pin mod on the ECU plug, very simple and documented.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

'97 S14 SE Turbo
07-19-2001, 01:31 PM
I'm running a '96 ECU in my car.

mike2016
07-19-2001, 01:34 PM
How can you use a 96 ECU on a 97/98? Do you need to use any kind of adapter wire harness or something like that?? please let me know some details!..... Thanks!!

97 S14
07-19-2001, 01:38 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by 240BurnOut:
You probably have a 96 ecu the 95's have diferent pinouts for the ac and some other stuff. I know cause it is causing me probs with my fmax install (using a 95 ECU). As for the 97/98 ecu those are going to be out later this year per Clark@jwt. I would just go with a 96 ecu as it allows you to lose the rear o2 sensor.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Hahahahahaha yeah right.... they've been telling the 300ZX community that the 96 300ZX ecu will be out "later this year" since 1997. JWT will never get an OBDII ecu developed.

'97 S14 SE Turbo
07-19-2001, 01:40 PM
You just move couple of the pins around on the wiring harness. Pretty straigh forward.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mike2016:
How can you use a 96 ECU on a 97/98? Do you need to use any kind of adapter wire harness or something like that?? please let me know some details!..... Thanks!! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

mike2016
07-19-2001, 01:42 PM
What does F-Max kit use for 97/98 240 ? does it come with instructions for how to move the pins? where can I get a 96 ECU?? Thanks!!!

[This message has been edited by mike2016 (edited 07-19-2001).]

ringer
07-19-2001, 01:47 PM
Call JWT they will fax you a diagram. there are only 3 pins to move IIRC.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mike2016:
What does F-Max kit use for 97/98 240 ? does it come with instructions for how to move the pins? where can I get a 96 ECU?? Thanks!!!

[This message has been edited by mike2016 (edited 07-19-2001).]<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

mike2016
07-19-2001, 01:48 PM
Thanks!! i have another question, where can I get a 96 ECU??

97 S14
07-19-2001, 02:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mike2016:
Thanks!! i have another question, where can I get a 96 ECU?? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Try junkyards... It's not too uncommon to find S14's in them ;( Or find someone that's done an SR swap and buy their stock ECU.

mike2016
07-19-2001, 11:16 PM
Are the ECU connectors on 95/96 and 97/98 the same ? Can a 95/96 ECU plug into a 97/98 ??