PDA

View Full Version : Rear window tint causing distortions -- normal?

ptevonian
07-31-2003, 08:45 PM
I recently got my windows tinted -- 3M film, 35% on front sides, 20% on rear sides and back. Everything looks great, except that the extensive grid of defroster and radio wires across the back window cause the tint film to bulge out over each wire. In daylight it's not a problem, but at night, we get significant distortion of the headlights from the cars behind, and it makes it difficult to accurately judge the distance between our car and the car following. It's like looking through a wet rear window all the time.

Is this normal? This is my first car with aftermarket tint, but I'm surprised the visual distortions are so great.

Thanks,
--Pete

limits_at_infiniti
07-31-2003, 08:56 PM
I have no problems.
But then again I have been driving around with tint for 6 years.

Maybe your getting use to it ?

96_ss
07-31-2003, 09:00 PM
You know, it doesn't sound right to me. Mine is not like that. Try a different tinter, or check with your guy and see what he says. It could be that there is just moisture there which should evaporate.

thangbu
07-31-2003, 09:06 PM
exactly what type of distortions do you see? after i got my coupe tinted, i noticed that at night, there's a vertical streak extending from any headlights in my rear view mirror. i believe i noticed the same thing on my three previous cars which were tinted as well. i believe it's due to the horizontal lines that make up the rear defroster which simulates the prismatic effect that you would find in a maddox rod prism.

shirubia610
07-31-2003, 10:24 PM
if it's distortion of any kind, go back there and get it done right, or get your money back. there should be no changes except that it's darker.

Fish_
08-01-2003, 02:33 AM
...i noticed that at night, there's a vertical streak extending from any headlights in my rear view mirror...

I have exactly the same issue on my sedan.

jburnham
08-01-2003, 07:13 AM