PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a FPR



DeatschWerks_Dave
10-13-2003, 06:58 PM
Here's my setup...

newly installed redtop SR (full exhaust, fmic, etc)
255 walbro
z32 mafs
safc-II

I am pretty sure that I am running rich (bad gas milage, diesels when I turn it off, runs hot, fouled plugs)

I have a yet to be tuned SAFC-II. Should I get an adjustable fuel pressure regulator before I go get dynotuned?

searched and found nothing too useful

thanks

asad
10-13-2003, 07:05 PM
How about a fuel pressure GAUGE so you can CHECK if you need an adjustable FPR.

Asad

DeatschWerks_Dave
10-13-2003, 08:11 PM
Dang you're smart. I just assumed it was at least a little high - but maybe it isn't. Aren't they usually high when you install a walbro 255?

I guess the real quesion is, should I just use the SAFC to compensate or is it better to start with factory fuel pressure before using the SAFC to tune?

asad
10-13-2003, 09:41 PM
I would start by setting the correct fuel pressure. If you don't, the fuel pressure will change as a function of load (rather than maintaining the correct differential in fuel rail pressure vs. intake manifold pressure like it's designed to do). Or, to put it another way, the fuel pressure won't track the manifold pressure correctly.

Asad

Hollywood
10-14-2003, 08:21 PM
I would start by setting the correct fuel pressure. If you don't, the fuel pressure will change as a function of load (rather than maintaining the correct differential in fuel rail pressure vs. intake manifold pressure like it's designed to do). Or, to put it another way, the fuel pressure won't track the manifold pressure correctly.

Asad



Whats a good afordable FPR in your mind then? A lot of the turbo honda guys here use the B&M one that mates to half their stock FPR as an affordable solution.

crazyikimasho
10-14-2003, 10:08 PM
the Tomei and Nismo FPR replacements are reasonably priced

DeatschWerks_Dave
10-15-2003, 08:49 AM
B&M doesn't make a FPR for the 240sx.
I might try something from Summit or Jegs if I decide I need one.

Hollywood
10-15-2003, 02:40 PM
B&M doesn't make a FPR for the 240sx.
I might try something from Summit or Jegs if I decide I need one.



Whats wrong with the stock one?

asad
10-15-2003, 02:43 PM
Whats wrong with the stock one?



It's not adjustable.

Asad

kovert
10-15-2003, 03:02 PM
The nissan dealership sells nismo FPR's for the KA24DE but its ACTUALLY for the sr20det, I bought mine from the dealer for $140

Jonny_290
10-15-2003, 03:07 PM
KA24DE but its ACTUALLY for the sr20det



I'm guessing it's the same part. It's for *both*, i bet. http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/smile.gif

kovert
10-15-2003, 03:21 PM
its for the sr, works on the ka, and rb25

kazuo
10-17-2003, 08:13 PM
Here's a question... how do you "adjust" the "adjustable" FPR? How do you know *what* to adjust it to?

Can I just take it to someone that knows what the hell they are doing and let them handle it? http://forums.freshalloy.com/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Info is appreciated. I am having similar problems as this guy...

asad
10-17-2003, 09:34 PM
Here's a question... how do you "adjust" the "adjustable" FPR? How do you know *what* to adjust it to?



You put in a temporary fuel pressure gauge. Easiest place to put it is in the fuel line between the fuel filter and the fuel rail.

Asad

Kato_NEO
01-09-2004, 10:56 AM
is the Nismo FPR adjustable?

NOSTALGIC_HERO
01-09-2004, 11:08 AM
how do you have your electric fans hooked up???

moorefire
01-09-2004, 01:22 PM
I am pretty sure that I am running rich (bad gas milage, diesels when I turn it off, runs hot, fouled plugs)




Running hot is not a side effect of running rich.

DeatschWerks_Dave
01-09-2004, 05:33 PM
If you run too rich your EGT's got up just like if you are too lean. Granted you have to be running REALLY rich.

btw - everything is fixed and my car runs GREAT now.

oewoko
01-09-2004, 10:29 PM
what did you do to fix it? my sr is running rich as well. but that's also cause i have a vacuum leak. but just in case its still running rich after i fix it, hehe

DeatschWerks_Dave
01-09-2004, 10:35 PM
I found out it was running after I turned it off due to the way I had the fans wired. The rest was taken care of thru gapping down my spark plugs to 0.025" and dyno tuning it with the S-AFC.

NOSTALGIC_HERO
01-09-2004, 11:26 PM
sounds good.