PDA

View Full Version : Tokico Blue vs. KYB AGX Shocks

silsilvia
09-18-2001, 08:53 PM
What is the opinion out there between these two shocks based on experience for the 89-94 240sx?

Which ones work best?

09-18-2001, 10:10 PM
I have no experience with the Tokico's, but I have AGX's and I like them a lot. They've got plenty of damping even for fairly stiff springs -- I run Suspension Techniques springs (~200 lb/in front, ~150 lb/in rear) and I drive around with the shocks set on 1 front and rear -- the ride is taut, no bouncing at all. Ride quality with this setup isn't bad at all...although if you turn the shocks up to full stiff (something I'm not about to do with the crappy roads here in NJ), it'll rattle your fillings out.

If you're planning on getting lowering springs, I'd get the AGX's. From what I hear, the Tokico's are only slightly stiffer than stock, so the AGX's would be more suitable for a wider variety of springs. Plus, you get the adjustability, for whatever that's worth to you (I almost never adjust mine).

Asad

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by silsilvia:
What is the opinion out there between these two shocks based on experience for the 89-94 240sx?

Which ones work best?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

**DONOTDELETE**
09-19-2001, 02:59 AM
In the old days, list members were swearing by the Tokico blues. Then shortly after, the AGX adjustables came out.. and people moved over to that. Is it the performance or the adjustability, I dunno..

I can tell you that I've been in both, and I still cant decide.. I think its preference.

However, I am one of the few members who has the Tokico shocks AND -1" lowering springs, and I am extremely happy with them after 3+ years of owning them. With the ST sway bars and F/R STB's, the car is very stiff but still very controllable.

- Mike

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial[/img]quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by asad137: