PDA

View Full Version : can i extend actuator arm?



felix44
02-11-2004, 12:40 PM
i bought a new actuator for my intermally wastegated turbo, but the arm on the acutuatorisnt long enough to reach where it has to, can i cut and weld in another pice of metal in the middle of it to extend it?

its for a bored warner turbo, the curent acuator has no vaccum line hook up for boost control, so i bought an adjustable one, any ideas on how to make the shaft longer? some kind of extension?

kevinwarren240
02-11-2004, 01:25 PM
yes do what i did. i know that you will not need it to be adjustable since you got a adjustable one already. I cut the actuator in two pieces. then i went to the auto parts store and got one of those long joiner nuts(i dont know the technical names) like the ones they use to tighten up cable with but smaller. then i threaded the ends of both pieces of the actuator rod and just screwed it on so then it was adjustable, and longer in your case

revlis240
02-12-2004, 02:00 AM
the curent acuator has no vaccum line hook up for boost control



how does it know when to open up then?

-Abe