PDA

View Full Version : Beginning a Turbo build, seeking Advice

ALewis182
08-05-2004, 07:43 PM
Okay, I'm planning a turbo buildup for my 1990 240SX xe w/Ka24e. I've got some questions and hopefully some of you can help because turbo knowledge is in short supply in my area.
first the basics: the car is solid, and the motor runs well at 183,000 miles. I bought it about 1,000 miles ago and have no idea what kind of history it's got. it does have the Timing chain rattle on startup, but I've dealt with that before on ka's in trucks. next, I am an Auto Mechanic, working towards ASE certification. I have access to all the manuals, diagrams, tools, and equipment needed for just about anything. I also have good computer skills and some basic electronics experience.
now for the fun part-what I dream about at night. I want to have around 300hp. my basic math says about 14 psi boost should do it if effieciency is improved in other areas as well. nothing crazy, but it has to be reliable and start every time I turn the key. I realize that much of this has to do with the tuning. not a problem again-my boss has tuned several boosted cars before, he's just never designed a system from the ground up and can't tell one axis of a compressor map from the other.
now the questions-my basic math shows I need about 500 cfm at a PR of 2, at 85% VE, and a 7000 RPM redline (remember, nothing crazy here) next, I'd like to have full boost at 3000 rpm. I want to be able to switch to a lower boost setting, around 7 psi for normal street driving. finally, I'd like to do this on 93 pump gas. I have no problem "spiking" fuel with octane booster, but I don't want to unless it's the only way.