The Nissan and Infiniti Enthusiasts Site
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 2003 G35 Common Problem: Air Conditioner stuck high Radio off Console died

  1. #1
    Administrator Kingtal0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    1,876

    2003 G35 Common Problem: Air Conditioner stuck high Radio off Console died

    Hello friends :-)

    Today my girlfriend says her radio stopped working in her G35.
    Naturally, the first thing I want to check is fuses. Inspecting them, none seem blown. Going inside to get my multimeter for a more accurate inspection I thought about how proprietary the audio system appeared to me, so I decide to check for common well known issues online.

    Searching google yielded this:
    http://townhall-talk.edmunds.com/Web...aa6/130#MSG130
    #10 of 411 Re: 2003 G35 Coupe Electronic Problem [mcdull] by ema15

    May 08, 2008 (9:14 pm)

    Replying to: mcdull (Oct 11, 2007 5:43 pm)


    hello i am having the same problem with my 2003 g35 sedan. but A/C, radio, CD and all the buttons on the console do not work. wouldl ike to know if anyone had found out the solution for it. If you do hit me back thanks



    and Searching the www.Freshalloy.com forums yielded this:

    Quote Originally Posted by 2003g35driver View Post
    Dealer says the radio cased the problem, not TSB. The car has 103,000.. figures, and the board was replaced at 5-10k. And, since the car is over 100k, not covered on warranty.
    Beware all others...

    Quote Originally Posted by SMac View Post
    Yeah, replace the control board that all the A/C and radio controls are on. That's the ITB listed on my work order. But mine happened at 9700 miles, and so was under warranty.

    Your's just happened? What mileage? Ever had it done before? Not looking forward to the idea this might happen again. I think the replacement had some changes for the problem. Maybe you got lucky (or unlucky if not under warranty anymore) and it just took this long to happen.

    I seem to have answers. That is: There seems to be a critical flaw in some Infinity G35 audio systems, causing them to work unproperly. The dealer seems to charge between $150-$3000 to fix the issue, and there is no exact known details (the exact description of the flaw is clouded).

    My initial instinct then is to install a known good radio and maintain the A/C function for the smallest cost with reliability. So another quick search in freshalloy gave me:

    Quote Originally Posted by ttknf View Post
    I don't know of any shops in particular, however I can tell you what you need to replace the stock headunit...
    You're gonna need this adapter: https://www.mynismo.com/products/?id=4343
    Then obviously the aftermarket radio of your choice. If you supply the above mentioned adapter to most shops where you buy the radio, they'll hook everything up for you. Hope that helps.

    Installing an aftermarket radio requires a kit.

    I ebay the cheapest kit ($1 shipped)
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/METRA-G35-SI...efaultDomain_0

    And a more pricey, more complete looking kit (To Compare)($200)
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/METRA-99-760...efaultDomain_0


    I will probably look for something in between.
    Reasons for posting:
    #1 to say hello
    #2 yield the results of my searching proving once again that searching works

    #3
    Is this right? Has anything changed, or am I missing any critical info? Has Infinity decided to send everybody free cars?
    Bioengineering
    Control systems processing
    RNA splicing

  2. #2
    Freshalloy Master Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    125
    first of all, the cheap kit that you ordered is for a 2005 and newer. But yes it is the audio unit.

  3. #3
    Administrator Kingtal0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    1,876
    Before I order anything, I want to make sure that installing an aftermarket head unit (using the kit) Will allow the A/C to function properly again?

    Right now, the AC controls do not work. I am skeptical that replacing the face plate will make them work, unless the power supply is somehow tied to the Radio and installing a working radio will fix that somehow. I have never had the dash apart on a G35 before, so I do not know what to expect.

    Right now, none of the A/C buttons work. Can somebody please confirm that installing an aftermarket head unit using the kit will fix that issue?
    Because it sounds like there is some other board that needs to be replaced.
    Bioengineering
    Control systems processing
    RNA splicing

  4. #4
    Freshalloy Master Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    125
    There was a recall on the very early G's for the radio finisher circuit board. I guarantee you have a failed radio and if you put in an aftermarket radio with the adapter kit you ordered the a/c controls should work just fine.

  5. #5
    Administrator Kingtal0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    1,876
    Thank you, and finally I would like to know:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/METRA-99-760...item2567494316

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-METRA-99...item230f2f58c4

    Those two kits seem identical except for a "wire harness adapter" and "antenna adapter". Do I need those additional wiring parts? It just seems odd they would sell a kit without them if not everybody needed them.
    I plan on installing a single din Pioneer radio.

    thanks again!
    Bioengineering
    Control systems processing
    RNA splicing

  6. #6
    Freshalloy Master Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    125
    They are not the same kit. They are different color's. One is silver and one is black. As for the wire harness, You WILL need a harness for the radio antenna at the least.

  7. #7
    Administrator Kingtal0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    1,876
    Alright, I got everything installed. But the radio will not work.

    I wired the AMP and the Antenna (blue) together for "remote".

    The CD player works, I got the factory AMP turned on and the sound quality is great playing CD or DVD. I've installed a Pioneer P2300-DVD Double Din Radio.


    But when I try to use the radio, it does not even give me a station. I cannot select a station, when I press "band" it does nothing. It just says "radio" at the top and does nothing...

    The P2300 unit was purchased used. Either the radio is BAD or the unit somehow knows that the radio would not work because of some other problem...


    Any ideas?
    Bioengineering
    Control systems processing
    RNA splicing

  8. #8
    Freshalloy Master Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    125
    As I stated before, DID YOU GET THE ANTENNA ADAPTER CABLE???? IT IS A MUST FOR THE RADIO TO WORK.

    You need this:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Antenna-Adap...ht_1345wt_1014

  9. #9
    Administrator Kingtal0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    1,876
    Quote Originally Posted by fedj18 View Post
    As I stated before, DID YOU GET THE ANTENNA ADAPTER CABLE???? IT IS A MUST FOR THE RADIO TO WORK.

    You need this:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Antenna-Adap...ht_1345wt_1014
    Oh yes, the antenna is plugged in. The radio wouldnt even turn on without the antenna plugged in, I found out.

    I tried another stereo I had sitting around and the radio worked fine. So I have to think that the new radio is simply defective. I had her send it back and we are going to get a new one.

    Thank you for all the help sir!
    Bioengineering
    Control systems processing
    RNA splicing

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •